RSS

Done is Better than Perfect

11 Jan

For the most part, I grew up in a very neat and organized household. My mother was very OC and had a place for everything. Nothing ever gets lost, nothing is ever wasted.

I take after my dad.

Don’t get me wrong, my dad does not lose stuff either. Except for the office files which he needs to keep track of, he dumps all his other papers in a drawer. Back when I was still in grade/high school, each summer, I would always (begrudgingly) help out my parents at home. The task I dreaded the most was cleaning my dad’s drawer and trying to make sense of the papers found inside. I would literally spend days putting everything in neat little piles. What makes the task more difficult is the knowledge that in 2 month’s time, the papers would be completely disorganized again.

Fast forward 15 years later, I am taking care of my own household. My papers – just like my father’s – are all over the place. Sure, they are all contained in a box (or two, plus a couple of envelopes over there…) but they are not categorized properly. The best way, I figure, is to put each kind of bill or receipt in an individual folder and arrange them all by date. Have you tried doing that to 4 years worth of receipts? It’s impossible.

While trying to look for organizing inspiration, I came across this poster over at Organizing Made Fun:

This will be my new mantra. I will no longer aim for perfection when it comes to cleaning and organizing the household. I have a 10 month old to look after, after all.

So armed with a new sense of purpose, I went to National Bookstore and bought myself one of these cheap expandable envelopes.

They’re ugly (hate those squares at the back – why can’t they just make it out in all black?) but I didn’t want to shell an extra PhP50 for a nicer looking one (the term “nicer” is relative. the other available folder was in tweety yellow. ugh.). The plan is to label each of the dividers for every month of the year and to put all paid bills for a given month in the designated slot. No more folder for every kind of bill. It’s faster and more efficient.

I’ll be working on our manuals and warranties next. I’ll try this tip from The Complete Guide to Imperfect Homemaking. Wish me luck!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on 01/11/2012 in Organizing, Things to Do, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Done is Better than Perfect

  1. happyinthrees

    01/11/2012 at 9:30 pm

    i totally feel you. storing my files in folders and drawers is also so me, and i have tried (and failed) to sort out bills by type as well. thanks for all the tips and the link! so excited to finally put my own house in order :)

     
    • Shaps

      01/12/2012 at 9:22 am

      good luck, grace! kaya yan. i would suggest you finish decluttering before having a baby. a baby has so much stuff!

       
      • happyinthrees

        01/13/2012 at 9:53 pm

        oh good you mentioned that! I never thought about how much stuff we will be needing when our baby(ies) arrive!!! thanks, shaps!!!

         
  2. Nats

    01/12/2012 at 6:48 am

    haha! a happy mom is better than a “perfect” mom :p good luck!!! kami din dito sa house filling stuff is one of the tasks that doesn’t get done right away.

     
    • Shaps

      01/12/2012 at 9:23 am

      naku, nats. that’s another mantra i have to keep repeating to myself. difficult though. sometimes all i see are the things i’m unable to do for meia and pao.

       
  3. Didi

    01/12/2012 at 9:24 am

    Shaps kami naman we stuff all of the warranty cards and manuals in a drawer! hahaha.. Hopeless si Edmund with organizing! Hahahaha… :)

     
    • Shaps

      01/13/2012 at 8:30 am

      Hi, Di. Do they fit? Ours don’t anymore. Especially after having Meia — she has so much stuff! She has her own envelope for warranties and manuals.

       
  4. Tita Omay

    01/12/2012 at 10:53 pm

    Hi Shaps,

    I also have a difficult time sorting files of receipts, warranty cards, etc. I do have envelopes for them but receipts have a way of being wayward and getting stuffed into envelopes where they’re not really supposed to be. The things that I am very careful about filing, however, are the receipts for the payment of real estate tax and income tax. Those are just so important. I keep them in duly marked envelopes and always make sure that if I take them out, that I put them back in their proper storage drawers. Land titles and car registration papers are also important, of course. So if you can just take care of those, it will be a big help. The rest of the stuff may not be as important so don’t worry too much about them.
    Here’s a favorite quote from English writer Rose Macaulay: “At the worst, a house unkept cannot be so distressing as a life unlived.”

     
    • Shaps

      01/13/2012 at 8:36 am

      Hi, Tita Omay. Yes, our receipts are also like that. Re the more important papers — I have a separate filing system for them, just to make sure they don’t get lost underneath all the receipts.
      I like the quote you cited. As much as I’d like to clean/organize the house as soon as I get home, I usually end up playing with Meia/talking to Pao instead. I’m trying to subscribe to the 15 minute rule instead — everyday, I spend 15 minutes organizing any part of the house. Hopefully, it’ll all add up in the end :)

       
  5. findingorderincorpusa

    01/15/2012 at 3:28 am

    I really enjoyed reading your blog. At first I thought you were taking about my husband, but he still can’t find stuff. :-) But you have also given me a project for myself. Thanks, I think?? :-)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 597 other followers

