RSS

An Ode to Polvoron

20 Jan

It’s been a hectic week for us. The yaya went on vacation last Monday so our all around maid, N, had to take over the Meia duties. To help out at home, my Mom asked one of her maids, F, if she wanted go on secondment with us for a couple of weeks. Thank god she agreed. So while N is getting used to taking care of the bear, she’s also training F. Pao and I are doing what we can to help out – I’ve even gone on leave a couple of times this week to help with the transition.

So yes, I miss our yaya very much. I hope she comes back as promised.

Whenever I’m stressed, I find myself looking for sweets. The other day I bought a bag of 20 pieces of Goldilocks Classic Polvoron. Goldilocks polvoron is my guilty pleasure. I’ve tried other kinds of polvoron, even those that claim that they are “gourmet”, but in my opinion, they don’t hold a candle to Goldilocks polvoron.

This isn’t the bag of polvoron I got. I bought the one that came in a plastic bag instead of a box  I prefer that because the pieces of polvoron inside are wrapped in yellow cellophane and not vacuum sealed. It’s hard to get the polvoron out of the vacuum seal bag – I end up scraping it against the bag and scattering crumbs all over myself. Sayang. Plus, call me old fashioned, but there’s nothing quite like the experience of unwrapping polvoron like candy. I’m salivating just thinking about it.

Yesterday, I ate 4 pieces of polvoron. FOUR. If Paolo didn’t stop me, I think I could’ve eaten the entire bag. Right now I’m dreaming of eating more of them. Which got me thinking, how many calories are in 1 piece of polvoron?

Uh oh. According to My Fitness Pal, each piece has 130 calories! Which means that yesterday, I gobbled 520 of them! Yikes.

Yaya better come home soon. Stress is making me fat!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 01/20/2012 in Others, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “An Ode to Polvoron

  1. Lisa

    01/24/2012 at 4:25 pm

    I LOVE My Fitness Pal. It helped me lose weight before I got pregnant. Which reminds me, I have to start using it again now. And resist the urge to go to Goldilocks for polvoron.

     

Leave a Reply

 
