RSS

Meia’s Birthday Countdown: Reminiscing My Pregnancy

02 Feb

In a month’s time, Meia will turn a year old! It’s been one hell of a ride, but I’m sure that the best is yet to come. While we’re counting down to Meia’s big day (parang kasal!), allow me to reminisce and tell you all about my pregnancy.

The pregnancy was difficult, to say the least. I had contractions (that I did not feel) as early as 2 months. Four months in, I was spotting regularly due to a polyp I developed presumably due to the pregnancy hormones. The good news was that it was the sole source of the bleeding (hence Meia was safe and sound). The bad news — we had to be cautious and treat each spotting incident carefully. We had to make sure each incident was caused by the polyp and not the baby. To be safe, my OB put me on bed rest. The deal was I can only go back to work if 2 weeks pass without any bleeding. As I’ve mentioned before, I ended up remaining on bed rest for the rest of my pregnancy.

Sometime in my second trimester, I also got food poisoning. I was vomitting and having bowel issues at the same time, and was so afraid that Meia would starve that I rushed to the ER. After 12 hours on the IV, I was sent home. Meia was ok. Whew!

My contractions carried on for the rest of my pregnancy. I was drinking medicine to help stop it, to no avail. In any case, I remember my OB said, as long as I don’t have 4 contractions in an hour, I should be ok.

Thirty-two weeks in, 2 days before Chinese New Year, ayan na. Around noon, I had 3 contractions in the space of 30 minutes. Pao was at work so I had to call my Mom to bring me to the hospital. I wasn’t too concerned. I remembered from birth class that if I was about to give birth, the contractions were supposed to hurt — radiating pain was the term, I think. I took a bath and made sure my labor bag and cordlife documents were ready. When I got to the hospital, turns out I was already 2 cm dilated and if we didn’t stop the contractions, I was going to give birth soon. Yikes!

I remember getting a bit annoyed with Meia then. When Pao and I discussed having a baby, we planned it in such a way that I would give birth on the year of the Rabbit. While I’m not much of a believer in Chinese astrology, I figured it wouldn’t hurt to follow it this time around. I was born on the year of the Monkey, so supposedly I wouldn’t get along that well with one born in the year of the Tiger. And lo and behold, the little one insists on making her debut on 2 days before the start of the year of the Rabbit. Kakaasar.

After more than 24 hours in the labor room, the doctors were able to stop the contractions. I was then placed on strict bed rest — meaning no walking unless I have to go to the bathroom. I could only stand up after I hit 36 weeks, but we weren’t hopeful I’d remain pregnant for that long. Still, each day the bear remained in the womb was another day that would better prepare her for the outside world. (Plus, it was already year of the Rabbit :p)

Oh, and did I tell you? I hadn’t done any shopping yet! My 2nd baby shower was scheduled around my 34th week and I was waiting for that before I did any shopping. Sure, we had the big ticket items. We bought the crib locally after Mothercare failed to get ours from London (that’s another story). My breast pump and Meia’s carseat finally arrived. But that was about it. No onesies, no tie-sides, no bonnet, no swaddling blanket, no diapers, no nothing. So I had to send poor Pao to the department store to get all these things himself. Thank god his mom accompanied him that day.

On my 37th week (yes, I reached 37 weeks!), I got off my butt and started to walk around the house. We put stickers in Meia’s corner of the room and I started cleaning. On my third day off bed rest, I gave birth to the bouncing bear. But that, my friends, is another story.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 02/02/2012 in Parenthood, Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Meia’s Birthday Countdown: Reminiscing My Pregnancy

  1. Didi

    02/02/2012 at 9:07 am

    Awww… I can’t believe our babies are turning one in a month’s time.
    Grabe, whenever i look at Kailee parang – time flew by soooooooo fast!!

    Thanks for sharing your journey!! 🙂
    This made me reminisce din. Hahahaha!! 🙂

    See you and bouncing bear soon ha!! 🙂

    Love and hugs to you Pao and the bear!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
