RSS

Meia’s Birthday Countdown: Birth Story

09 Feb

In a month’s time, Meia will turn a year old! It’s been one hell of a ride, but I’m sure that the best is yet to come. While we’re counting down to Meia’s big day (parang kasal!), allow me to reminisce and tell you all about her birth story.

As I’ve mentioned here, I gave birth 37 weeks and 3 days into my pregnancy.

That morning was like any other. I woke up, checked to see if she was kicking (due to my paranoia, I’d gotten into the habit of counting kicks) and proceeded to nest clean the house. By noon, I started feeling a bit weird, like I needed to go to the bathroom. The right side of my belly felt a bit tight but I dismissed it, thinking it was nothing.

[That’s how smart I am. I’ve been having contractions since I was 2 months pregnant and I couldn’t recognize one even if it went up to me, said hi, and introduced itself as a contraction. In my defense, I remember the intern from my last hospital stay telling me that the whole belly tightens up during a contraction. Since only the right side was tight, I reckoned it was nothing. Brilliant, Shaps. Just brilliant.]

By 3pm, I discovered an old keyboard cover for the husband’s Mac. It used to be white, but was now an awful shade of gray. I went to the sink and started to clean it vigorously. I must have spent around an hour trying to get all the dirt out.

By 5pm, I realized I was bleeding. It wasn’t like the spotting from before – there was more blood now. Tummy was still getting tight every now and then and I still felt like going to the bathroom. For the first time though, I didn’t want to check myself into the hospital because (wait for it) I wanted to watch American Idol. Ha.

I've had a music crush on Steven Tyler since I was in high school. Picture credits: http://www.sexysteventyler.com

I waited a bit for the bleeding to subside but it didn’t. After a while, I told Pao we needed to go to the hospital. I also called my OB. My doctor told me that I might be in labor but I was like, nah. No contractions! Aren’t contractions necessary for labor? Toink.

By 630pm, the intern examined me and asked me if I was in pain. Apparently, my water bag already ruptured (when it happened, I had no idea) and I was Β 5 cm dilated. The baby was arriving! And I didn’t get to shower before going to the hospital, dammit! The doctors estimated that I’d give birth around 1am the next morning.

By 9pm, the anesthesiologist arrived. They wheeled me into the operating room so she could hook me up. (No way was I going to do lamaze.) I was still feeling a bit chatty. I wasn’t in pain but I started getting uncomfortable.

While waiting for a space between contractions so the anesthesiologist could insert the needle, my OB arrived. Then it got painful really fast. This must be how Ellen Ripley (Sigourney Weaver) felt in Aliens, I thought. My OB examined me and we were all surprised to find out that I was already at 10cm – the baby was crowning! The resident had to run to get to Pao, who was waiting in the room with my mother-in-law, to make sure he witnessed Meia’s birth. He almost didn’t make it.

And at 9:45pm, after 3 hours of “labor”, the bouncing bear made her debut to the world. She was small and wrinkly and beautiful and perfect.

By 10pm, she was wheeled in the nursery and her bassinet was placed next to a baby boy’s. Pao claims that she scowled at the other baby and he started to wail.

Fifteen minutes old and already making her first boy cry. That’s my girl.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on 02/09/2012 in Parenthood, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Meia’s Birthday Countdown: Birth Story

  1. Didi

    02/09/2012 at 9:20 am

    Awwwwwwwww.!!!! Reminiscing na talaga!! πŸ™‚

    I really enjoy reading your entries… I can imagine you making kwento… EXACTLY like that!! hehehe..

    Hugs to the bouncing bear from Kailee!! πŸ™‚

     
    • Shaps

      02/09/2012 at 9:28 am

      Hi, Di.

      Oo nga. Malapit na kasi! I need to get everything down before I forget :p

      Hard to believe that we’ve survived 11 months of poop and sleepless nights. You know what they say, the days are long but the years are short. And the first year really went by so fast!

      Congrats to us! Hug Kailee for me πŸ™‚

       
  2. MamaMoo

    02/10/2012 at 4:27 am

    beautiful story!

     
    • Shaps

      02/10/2012 at 6:39 am

      Thanks! πŸ™‚

       
  3. Vera

    03/08/2012 at 10:19 am

    Hi Shaps!

    Beautiful post (and funny too!)

    Like you, I didn’t know how contractions felt like up until that moment that I was about to give birth. I was telling myself after the fact, ah yun pala yun.

    I wrote down my baby’s birth story too so I won’t forget. The past year was a blur.

    Belated happy birthday to Meia!

     
    • Shaps

      03/08/2012 at 2:21 pm

      Thanks, Vera! I’ll drop by your blog as well to read your birth story. Elle is so beautiful. I hope we get to meet her someday πŸ™‚

      I know what you mean – time flies by so fast. Each moment is a treasure and if I could blog each and every moment of Meia’s development I would.

       

Leave a Reply

 
