RSS

Signs of Drowning

30 Mar

I initially planned on having all original content for this blog, but then every now and then I come across some sites which I want to share with you guys. Since I’m also very forgetful, it works out.

This morning, Pao shared with me this post by Mario Vittone on drowning:

It’s really alarming and something that every person needs to know. According to this post:

“It is the number two cause of accidental death in children, age 15 and under (just behind vehicle accidents) – of the approximately 750 children who will drown next year, about 375 of them will do so within 25 yards of a parent or other adult. In ten percent of those drownings, the adult will actually watch them do it, having no idea it is happening (source: CDC).”

Shit.

In the post, Vittone lists the signs of instinctive drowning response, which is what we do to avoid drowning. From experience, I can attest that it’s impossible to shout out when you’re drowning. My dad was in the same swimming pool when it happened to me, and if it wasn’t for a stranger who saw me struggling, I wouldn’t be here today.

So please do read the article and share it with your friends and family.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on 03/30/2012 in Good to Know, Others, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
