RSS

The Joy of Discovery

26 Apr

I just had the best vacation in a long long time. Granted, I haven’t been out of Manila for almost 2 years, so I may have low standards. After all, it was just an overnight trip, it was just to Punta Fuego (a so-so resort), there was a mix-up in our accommodations, it took us 5-6 hours to complete a 3 hour drive (since we had to stop for meals, walks, and her naps), we had to bring a lot of things to make sure that the bear was comfortable, and it was crazy hot. Hmm, make that really low standards.

You know why I think I had the best vacation ever? I’ll give you a hint:

It’s such a joy watching the bear discover new things. From the flowers she saw in Tagaytay, to the school of fish in Nuvali, to the new food that we had her taste, to swimming in the pool in her mushroom salbabida, to reading her Mickey Mouse clubhouse book, to holding and scribbling crayons for the first time, to coloring our pillows and comforter with said crayons (definitely not for the last time — I really hope Crayola is being truthful when they said they’re washable), there is not a moment of the last few days that I would trade for anything in the world. (Ok, it would’ve been nice if she could nap in the car.)

The look on her face when she learns something new, when she says a new word (‘No’ and ‘boobs’ are her latest) is priceless. There are so many things I want her to experience, and I am looking forward to our next adventure. 🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 04/26/2012 in Parenthood, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “The Joy of Discovery

  1. Didi

    04/30/2012 at 4:52 pm

    Shaps! Couldn’t see your comment sa post ko! YES, scary yung allergy scare my gosh!! To the highest of the highest levels!! But at least now, I know what to do!! 🙂

    On Meia – our little girls are 1 na and my gosh, I think the adventures are starting na!! 🙂 So glad you enjoyed your vacation!! Ako I was stressed preparing for it! kasi naman the things that we need to bring diba? But in the end, it was all worth it! I’m sure our reactions are the same when we see our babies enjoying what their doing – super nakakatuwa!! 🙂

    I love the boobs word ha! Hahaha!! 🙂

     
    • Shaps

      05/01/2012 at 8:10 am

      Weird na you couldn’t see my comment. I said lang na I’m really glad Kailee’s okay now… her allergy pictures looked scary. Is she sensitive to all kinds of food or just dory?

      Everyday is an adventure with Meia – whether we’re just walking in the garden, wading in the pool, or running around the house – there’s always something new to do, or always a new way to do something old. And yes, preparing and packing for a trip with a little one is always stressful. What if I leave something “important” at home?

      How was subic? Where did you stay? I’m still thinking of places to bring Meia. I’m not sure we’re ready for an out of the country trip… I would prefer that she drop 1 nap first before we do that since unlike other kids, Meia can’t nap when she’s distracted. She forces herself up, even though her eyes are tearing na from being super sleepy.

       
      • Didi

        05/02/2012 at 8:52 am

        Shaps! Kailee is the same! She can’t sleep when distracted! Whenever we’re out, we are forced to go home kasi she needs to go to sleep! She can’t sleep when we’re out! Kakainggit those kids who can sleep while naglalakwatsa sa stroller or sa shoulder!! This happened yesterday, we were in Makati Shang and were supposed to check out at 2pm, my gosh 12noon nasa bahay na kami kasi Kailee didn’t want to nap kahit na antok na antok na siya!!

        Sila Edmund has a place in Subic – kaya staple yan. Whenever there’s a long weekend – for sure Subic yan. Last Holy Week was the first time we took her out of town and ang dami naming dala! Since Subic was really hot – Kailee had flare-ups! She had to stay inside the house para naka-aircon and walang rashes. Kawawa talaga

         
      • Shaps

        05/02/2012 at 4:51 pm

        Haha I know, right? Everytime we see a baby sleeping in the stroller – heck, everytime we see a baby sitting calmly in a stroller – nag-titinginan kami ni Pao sa ingit! I assume you stayed overnight in Makati Shang — she was able to sleep naman?

        Oh no! How is Kailee coping in this heat? Meia still sweats even if we switch on the aircon and 2 electric fans all at the same time. Crazy.

         

Leave a Reply

 
